# Preface

This volume constitutes the proceedings of the Eighth European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming, ECOOP, held in Bologna, Italy, on July 4 to 8, 1994. Previous ECOOP conferences were held in Paris (France), Oslo (Norway), Nottingham (England), Ottawa (Canada, jointly with OOPSLA), Geneva (Switzerland), Utrecht (the Netherlands), and Kaiserslautern (Germany).

The past ten years have seen object-oriented technology making a major impact on the software industry; it is not going too far to say that nowadays the notion of object orientation is revolutionizing all aspects of the software lifecycle. Success on the practical side has gone in parallel with continuous scientific growth, so that the field, far from having settled into quiescence, is still characterized by a tumultuous vitality of novel directions and developments.

The technical programme of ECOOP'94 testifies this well. We selected 25 papers from 161 which were submitted. The papers were selected based only on their quality. The selection was a very hard task, and many good papers had to be rejected because of space limitations. As a result, the selected papers cover a wide range of topics such as programming language issues, databases, analysis, design, and reuse, in the form both of research contributions and of experience reports. We would like to express our sincere thanks to the authors of submitted papers, the programme committee members, and the other reviewers of papers.

We organized two invited talks (whose papers are included in this volume) and two panels. The invited talks and panels provide further insight into the state of the art of object-oriented technology by pointing the way to future evolution and by allowing cross-fertilization of ideas with related disciplines.

Apart from the technical program, ECOOP'94 also offers tutorials, workshops, exhibition, and demonstrations. Thus, we trust researchers and practitioners of object-oriented technology will find a great many opportunities in the ECOOP'94 conference.

Finally, we would like to thank the Dipartimento di Elettronica, Infonnatica e Sistemistica (DEIS) of the University of Bologna, and AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets) for their organization, ACM/SIGPLAN and AICA (Associazione Italiana per il Calcolo Automatico) for their cooperation, many sponsors for their support, and the executive committee members for their untiring devotion. Many thanks go to the participants at the conference who really make this conference enthusiastic. Lastly, we would like to thank Ichiro Satoh for his help in editing this volume.

April 1994

Mario Tokoro and Remo Pareschi ECOOP'94 Programme Committee Co-Chairs

## Organization

ECOOP'94 is organized by the Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informatica e Sistemistica (DEIS) of the Università di Bologna and AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets) in cooperation with ACM/SIGPLAN and AICA (Associazione Italiana per il Calcolo Automatico).

## Sponsoring Institutions

A.I.S. (Artificial Intelligence Software)
CIOC C.N.R. (Centro Interazione Operatore Calcolatore)
C.N.R.
C.N.R. Dirczione Progetto Finalizzato Sistemi Informatici e Calcolo Parallelo
Hewlett-Packard Italia
IBM Semea
MESARTEAM
SUN Italia

## Executive Committee

Conference chair:	Maurelio Boari (Università di Bologna, Italy)	
Programme co-chairs:	Mario Tokoro (Keio University / Sony CSL, Japan)	
	Remo Pareschi (Rank Xerox, France)	
Organizing chair:	Paola Mello (Università di Bologna, Italy)	
Tutorials:	Antonio Natali (Università di Bologna, Italy)	
Workshops:	Antonio Corradi (Università di Bologna, Italy)	
	Letizia Leonardi (Università di Modena, Italy)	
Panels:	Jean-Marc Andreoli (Rank Xerox, France)	
	Satoshi Matsnoka (University of Tokyo, Japan)	
Exhibition:	Giuseppe Bellavia (Università di Bologna, Italy)	
	Roberto Zicari (Goethe-Universität, Germany)	
Demonstrations:	Anna Ciampolini (Università di Bologna, Italy)	

#### Programme Committee

Hassan Ait.-Kaci Mehmet Aksit Philips, Netherlands Pierre America Elisa Bertino Jean Bezivin Maurelio Boari Pierre Cointe Jacques Ferber Bj0rn Freeman-Benson Simon Gibbs Gerti Kappel Xerox PARC, USA Gregor Kiczales Ole Lehrmann Madsen Boris Magnusson Tom Maibaum José Meseguer Eliot Moss Max Miihlhauser Oscar Nierstrasz Atsushi Ohori DFKI, Germany Walter Olthoff Jens Palsberg Rank Xerox, France Remo Pareschi Antonio Porto Markku Sakkinen Luc Steels Dave Thomas Mario Tokoro Akinori Yonezawa Roberto Zicari

Simon Fraser University, Canada University of Twente, Netherlands Università di Genova, Italy Université de Nantes, France Università di Bologna, Italy Ecoles des Mines de Nantes, France LAFORIA-IBP, France University of Victoria, Canada Université de Genève, Switzerland University of Vienna, Austria Aarhus University, Denmark Lund University, Sweden Imperial College, UK SRI International, USA University of Massachussets, USA University of Karlsruhe, Germany Université de Genève. Switzerland Kyoto University, Japan Aarhus University, Denmark Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal University of Jyväskylä, Finland Vrije University Brussels, Belgium Object Technology International, Canada Keio University / Sony CSL, Japan University of Tokyo, Japan Goethe-Universität, Germany

# Referees

Achauer, B. Ait-Kaci, H. Aksit, M. Alferes, J. America, P. Andreoli, J. Andries, M. Bergamaschi, S. Bergmans, L. Bertino, E. Be/ivin, J. Bichler, P. Boari, M. Bosch, J. Breche, P. Budd, T. Caires, L. Ciancarini, P. Cointe, P. Corradi, A. Dami, L. De Paoli, F. Dias, A.M. Eder, J. Engels, G. Even, S. Ferber, J. Freeman-Beson, B. Frick, O. Fujinami, N. Gautron, P. Gerteis, W. Gibbs, S. Groenewegen, L. Guerrini, G.	Hedin, G. Hitz, M. Honda. Y. Kappel, G. Kiczales, G. Knudsen, J.L. Kobayashi, N. Koehorst, H. Lamma, E. Lautemann, S. Leonardi, L. Lincoln, P. Liu, L. Loehr-Richter, P. Madsen, O.L. Magnusson, B. Maibaum, T. Marti-Oliet, N. Matsuoka, S. McFarland, C. Mello, P. Meseguer, J. Miguel Dias, A. Minör, S. Moss, E. Mueck, T. Miihlhauser, M. Mulet, P. Natali. A. Nierstrasz, O. Ohno, Y. Ohori, A. Olthoff, W. Onodera, T. Palsberg, J.	Pareschi, R. Porto, A. Prueckler, T. Rausch-Schott, S. Retschitzegger, W. Richartz, M. Rivard, F. Roeck, B. Sakkinen, M. Samarati, P. Schrefl, M. Skerrett, I. Skublics, S. Steels, L. Taivalsaari, A. Takeuchi, A. Thomas, D. Tiberio, P. Tokoro, M. Tuceryan, M. Vasconcelos, V. Vieweg, S. Vihavainen, J. Wakita, K. Watari, S. Yokota, K. Yonezawa, A. Zamperoni, A. Zicari, R. Zondag, E. des Rivieres, J. van der Linden, F.
--	--	---