#### Preface

For the twelfth time, the European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming, ECOOP, provides a gathering place for researchers and practitioners in the field of object technology. Despite numerous other conferences on object-related topics, ECOOP has established itself as the premier object technology conference. One reason is the composition of the conference week and the high quality of the presented material. The first two days of the conference are devoted to a comprehensive tutorial program running in parallel with a very selective workshop program. The remaining three days are devoted to the technical program and organized as a single track where about two dozen high quality technical papers are presented and discussed intermixed with panels and invited talks. The size of the conference and the choice of sites typically leads to a very cozy and informative atmosphere that fosters significant scientific exchange and learning.

This volume constitutes the proceedings of the Twelfth ECOOP held in Brussels, Belgium in July 1998. Previous ECOOP conferences were held in Paris (France), Oslo (Norway), Nottingham (England), Ottawa (Canada, jointly with OOPSLA), Geneva (Switzerland), Utrecht (the Netherlands), Kaiserslautern (Germany), Bologna (Italy), Århus (Denmark), Linz (Austria), and Jyväskylä (Finland).

The ECOOP'98 technical programme consists of 24 technical papers (selected from 124 submissions), two invited speakers, and two panels. The programme committee, consisting of 29 distinguished researchers in object orientation, met at the University of Copenhagen in Denmark on January 29 and 30. All papers were reviewed by between three and six members of the programme committee. The accepted papers cover a number of different topics both practical, such as garbage collection, and more theoretical, such as type theory. It is our hope that you will find the resulting mix interesting and enlightening.

I would like to express my appreciation to the authors of submitted papers, the programme committee members, the external referees, the invited speakers and panel members, and the many others who have contributed to the ECOOP'98 technical programme. We hope that the resulting technical programme is another solid step towards advancing object-oriented software technology, just as previous ECOOPs have been.

Finally, I would like to thank the numerous people in AITO and at VUB who are responsible for organizing ECOOP'98.

Ultimately, the success of any conference is measured by the number of attendees who actually feel that they spent their time well—a feeling that we all can share by active participation in the conference. Have fun!

# **Organization**

ECOOP'98 is organized by the Programming Technology Lab of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, under the auspices of AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets), and in cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN (Association for Computing Machinery, Special Interest Group for Programming Languages).

#### **Executive Committee**

Conference Chair: Luc Steels (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, B) Eric Jul (Aalborg University & University of Programme Chair:

Copenhagen, DK)

Organizing Chair: Theo D'Hondt (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, B)

## **Programme Commitee**

Mehmet Aksit (University of Twente, NL)

Jean-Pierre Briot (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Paris 6, F)

Frank Buschmann (Siemens AG, D)

Vinny Cahill (Trinity College, IRL)

Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Research Ltd., UK)

Craig Chambers (University of Washington, USA)

Derek Coleman (King's College London, UK)

Charles Consel (University of Rennes, F)

Peter Dickman (University of Glasgow, UK)

Bjorn Freeman-Benson (Object Technology International, CDN)

Erich Gamma (Object Technology International, CH)

Rachid Guerraoui (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, CH)

Norman C. Hutchinson (University of British Columbia, CDN)

Yutaka Ishikawa (Real World Computing Partnership, J)

Gerti Kappel (Johannes Kepler University, A)

Jørgen Lindskov Knudsen (Aarhus University, DK)

Sacha Krakowiak (Université Joseph Fourier, F)

Bent Bruun Kristensen (Odense University, DK)

Karl J. Lieberherr (Northeastern University, USA)

Ole Lehrmann Madsen (University of Aarhus, DK)

Boris Magnusson (Lund Institute of Technology, S)

Satoshi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Technology, J)

Paola Mello (University of Ferrara, I)

Ana Moreira (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, P)

Ron Morrison (University of St Andrews, UK)

Oscar Nierstrasz (Universitaet Bern, CH)

Jens Palsberg (Purdue University, USA)

Dag I.K. Sjöberg (University of Oslo, N)

Jan Vitek (University of Geneva, CH)

VII

#### Organizing Committee

Tutorial Chair: Viviane Jonckers (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, B)

Workshop Chair: Serge Demeyer (IAM-SCG, CH)

Panel Chair: Ghislain Hoffman (University of Ghent, B)
Demonstration Chair: Eric Steegmans (University of Leuven, B)
Poster Chair: Patrick Steyaert (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, B)
Exhibition Chair: Eddy Vandijck (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, B)

#### Organizing Team at Vrije Universiteit, B

Carine Lucas (Conference Manager), Koen De Hondt, Jan De Laet, Kris De Volder, Wolfgang De Meuter, Wim Lybaert, Kim Mens, Tom Mens, Tom Tourwé, Werner Van Belle, Mark Willems, and Roel Wuyts

## Organizing Team at the University of Twente, NL

Richard van de Stadt (Electronic Submission & Reviewing System)

## Organizing Team at the University of Copenhagen, DK

Morten Frank (Proceedings Organizer)

## Cooperating Associations



Aito (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objects)  $\label{eq:http://iamwww.unibe.ch/ECOOP/AITO/}$ 



ACM SIGPLAN (Association for Computing Machinery, Special Interest Group for Programming Languages) http://www.acm.org/sigplan/

# **Sponsoring Companies**



EDS: Main Sponsor http://www.eds.com/



IBM: Host for the Conference Banquet http://ibm.com/



Sabena: Official Carrier for ECOOP'98 http://www.sabena.be/

#### Referees

Franz Achermann Constantin Arapis Costas Arapis Jean-Paul Bahsoun Dharini Balasubramaniam Martin Hitz

Lodewijk Bergmans Didier Bert Walter Binder Pim van den Broek Ciaran Bryce

Lars Kirkegaard Bækdal Luis Caires Shigeru Chiba

Henrik B. Christensen Michael Christensen A. Ciampolini Robert Clark Antonio Corradi Laurent Dami Enrico Denti Anne Doucet

Stephane Ducasse Roland Ducournau Erik Ernst

Marc Evers Andrew Gordon Zahia Guessoum Pedro Guerreiro Michel Habib Görel Hedin Roger Henriksson

Marianne Huchard Bernard Huet Eydun Eli Jacobsen

Eric Jacopin

Bo N. Jørgensen Graham Kirby Dimitri Konstantas Evelina Lamma Philippe Laublet

Julia Lawall Letizia Leonardi Markus Lumpe Munenori Maeda Margarida Mamede Renaud Marlet Marco Meiiers Mira Mezini

Hanspeter Moessenboeck Gilles Muller Dave Munro Palle Nowack

Werner Obermair

Andrea Omicini Doug Orleans Francois Pachet Ulrik Pagh Schultz Guenter Pilz

Christian Queinnec

Sigi Reich

Werner Retschitzegger

Tamar Richner Fabrizio Riguzzi Michel Riveill

Xavier Rousset de Pina

Elmer Sandvad Ichiro Sato

Jean-Guv Schneider Wieland Schwinger Cesare Stefanelli Markus Stumptner Mario Suedholt Bedir Tekinerdogan Scott Thibault Sander Tichelaar Mads Torgersen Vasco Vasconcelos Andre Weinand Mikal Ziane