Preface

The annual workshop on Algorithm Engineering and Experiments (ALENEX) provides a forum for the presentation of original research in the implementation and experimental evaluation of algorithms and data structures. ALENEX 2002 was the fourth workshop in this series. It was held in San Francisco, California on January 4–5, 2002. This volume collects extended versions of the 15 papers that were selected for presentation from a pool of 34 submissions.

We would like to thank the sponsors, authors, and reviewers who helped make ALENEX 2002 a success. We also want to thank the invited speakers, Cynthia Phillips of Sandia National Laboratories, Martin Farach-Colton of Google, and Michael Kass of Pixar. Finally, we would like to thank Springer-Verlag for publishing these papers in their *Lecture Notes in Computer Science* series.

May 2002

David M. Mount Clifford Stein

ALENEX 2002 Sponsors

The following organizations provided direct financial support, which enabled us to host invited speakers and provide reduced registration fees for students.

- Sandia National Laboratories
- Akami Technologies Inc.
- \bullet NEC Research

The following provided in-kind support, facilitating the workshop.

- SIAM, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
- SIGACT, the ACM SIG on Algorithms and Computation Theory
- Columbia University

ALENEX 2002 Program Committee

Nancy Amato (Texas A&M University) Marshall Bern (Xerox PARC) Michael Goodrich (University of California, Irvine) Tom McCormick (University of British Columbia) Michael Mitzenmacher (Harvard University) David Mount (University of Maryland; Co-chair) Giri Narasimhan (Florida International University) Rajeev Raman (University of Leicester) Clifford Stein (Columbia University; Co-chair)

ALENEX 2002 Steering Committee

Michael Goodrich (University of California, Irvine) Adam Buchsbaum (AT&T Labs) Roberto Battiti (University of Trento, Italy) Andrew V. Goldberg (Intertrust STAR Lab) Michael T. Goodrich (University of California, Irvine) David S. Johnson (AT&T Bell Laboratories) Catherine C. McGeoch (Amherst College) Bernard M.E. Moret (University of New Mexico; chair) Jack Snoeyink (UNC-Chapel Hill)